If you have reached the authorization limit of five computers to access iTunes content or planning to sell your PC, then you should deauthorize a computer in iTunes. When you deauthorize a device, you only prevent it from accessing protected content that you have bought from the iTunes Store, iBook Store, and App Store.

Sponsored Links

Well, Apple only allows up to 5 computers to access iTunes content at the time. In order to use on a new computer/mac, you will need to deauthorize an old computer/mac in iTunes. The process is quite similar to how DRM works. If you are planning to send your computer to service or make a major update, don’t forget to deauthorize your computer in iTunes to protect your content. Are you ready to deauthorize a computer in iTunes?

Let me show the how to do it!
How to Deauthorize a Computer in iTunes

How to Deauthorize a Computer in iTunes

You can follow these few steps to deauthorize a computer in iTunes. Make sure that you are following these steps on that specific computer you want to deauthorize.

Step #1. Open iTunes on that specific computer.

Step #2. At the top of the screen, click on AccountAuthorizationsDeauthorize This Computer and then wait for the pop-up.

Open iTunes and Go to Deauthorize This ComputerStep #3. Now you will prompt to enter your Apple ID and password and then click on “Deauthorize” to confirm and remove the device from the authorize computer list.

Enter your Apple ID and password and Click on DeauthorizeNote: If you have enabled 2 step verification on your Apple ID, you will need to confirm the code.

Enter two step verification Apple ID CodeStep #4. Now, you can see that This Computer is not Authorised.

you can see that This Computer is not AuthorisedHow to check how many computers you’ve authorized your iTunes account

Well, if you don’t have any about how many computers you have authorized iTunes account, then you can find out which computers are authorized on your iTunes account by following below steps.

Step #1. Open iTunes and sign in with your Apple ID.

Open iTunes and sign in with your Apple IDStep #2. Now, Click on Account and then select View My Account from the top of the screen.

Sponsored Links

Click on Account and then select View My Account in iTunesStep #3. Now you will see the number of authorized computer in the Apple ID Summary section next to Computer Authorization. Unluckily, you won’t see the names of those computers.

Now you will see the number of authorized computer in the Apple ID Summary section in iTunesWant to deauthorize all the computers in iTunes? Here’s how to do it.

If you are using only one device and need to deauthorize all other computers in iTunes without a need of logging on to each them manually, then here you can do it simply. Deauthorize all only works if you have got at least 2 authorized computer and it can be used only once in a year.

Step #1. Open iTunes and sign in with your Apple ID.

Open iTunes and sign in with your Apple IDStep #2. From the top of the screen, Choose Account and then View My Account.

Click on Account and then select View My Account in iTunesStep #3. Scroll down to the Apple ID summer and click on “Deauthorize All” next to the Computer Authorizations.

Click on Deauthorize All in iTunesStep #4. Now, confirm that you want to deauthorize all computers by selecting “Deauthorize All” button.

This is how you can protect your data. Well, when you deauthorize all, you won’t lose content or nothing will be deleted from your favorite list. You can authorize your computer later again.

Also Read:

If you encounter any error while following this guide, feel free to tell us in the comments or follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Google Plus.