A few months back, Instagram started a feature called ‘Stories’ where you can add more than one picture of yours and it will come out as a slideshow. Now Instagram has stepped further and brought two new features. One of these features is Instagram Live as we have discussed earlier and the other is disappearing videos and photos about which we are going to have a tutorial now.
Yes, you have read it right; now your photos and videos will get disappeared once you share them with your friends individually and also in groups, just like it happens in Snapchat. We believe with this feature the level of trust among the Instagram users is going to increase only. Let’s know more about these two features.
How to Send Disappearing Photos and Videos in Instagram on iPhone and Android
For Snapchat users, this feature might not look new but it is exciting for Instagram users for sure. This feature will make you safe as your individual or group post will disappear automatically once your friend sees it. Not only that you will also be kept informed about his or her actions as well. Sounds interesting? Then let’s know how you can also do it.
Step #1. Launch your Instagram app on your smartphone.
Step #2. Swipe from the right on your feed to open the camera.
Step #3. Take your photo or a video which you want to share as disappearing post.
Step #4. Tap on the Arrow button on the bottom right of your screen.
Step #5. Now you will see a list of your followers. If you wish you can send this message individually or in the group to your followers, so choose the recipients wisely.
Step #6. Now tap on ‘Send’ to send your disappearing picture or video either individually or in a group, according to your selection as per Step #5 above.
Important things to know about disappearing photos and videos on Instagram
- When your friend opens your disappearing photo or video message it will disappear from his or her inbox after a few seconds.
- You will also be able to see if your friend has replayed your video or even took a screenshot. So, now you can feel safe about certain photos and videos which you have shared with your friends.
- It doesn’t matter whether you have set your Instagram account public or private, disappearing videos and pictures can be sent to your followers only.
How to check disappearing photos and videos on Instagram
When you receive a disappearing photo and video in your Instagram inbox, you need to follow these steps.
Step #1. Tap on the new paper ‘Airplane’ icon at the top right corner of your screen. You can also swipe to left on your feed to open your inbox.
Step #2. Now you can distinguish between normal messages and disappearing photos and videos on in a bar at the top of the screen as the newly featured messages are having blue rings. Tap on the message with blue rings.
Once you are done the message will fade away automatically.
Step #3. (Applicable to group messages only) When such message received in a group you need to tap on the group and you will see everyone’s responses and who has checked this message already. Once you have checked the message with this newly added feature it will disappear on its own.
As we mentioned at the start of this article that by adding disappearing photos and videos Instagram has made sure that users should feel secure when they share videos or photos with their followers. Not only these posts will disappear but if someone tries to take a snapshot of it then too the user will get the notification.
We are sure after reading this tutorial you will certainly give a try to this new feature added by Instagram. If you already have gone through it then do share your views with us here in comments section.