How to Hide Active Status in Facebook Messenger on Android and iPhone

How do you hide active status in Facebook Messenger on iPhone and Android device? Follow these quick steps to use this app secretly.

Facebook Messenger shows who is currently active or online in order to let you instantly contact with your friends. It’s a very user-friendly and I really appreciate that. However, it also exposes your privacy; especially if you don’t want others to know your last seen or active status.

Fortunately, there is a way you can disable the active status in Facebook Messenger on Android and iPhone. Once you turn off the online status, your friends won’t know when you were active or seen last. At the same time, you too won’t know the active status of others.

How to Hide Your Active Status in Facebook Messenger on Android and iPhone

How to Hide Your Active Status in Facebook Messenger on Android and iPhone

How to Hide Your Active Status in Facebook Messenger on Android

Step #1. Launch Facebook Messenger app on your Android device.

Launch Facebook Messenger app on your Android device

Step #2. Tap on More button at the top.

Tap on More button at the top

Step #3. Next, select Active tab at the top.

Select Active tab at the top

Step #4. Next, you should see the list of people who are now active.

you need to turn off the switch next to your profile.

Turn off the switch next to your profile

From now onwards, your active status will be hidden. You too won’t be able to find out your friend’s active status.

How to Hide Your Active Status in Facebook Messenger on iPhone

Step #1. Open Facebook Messenger app on your iPhone.

Open Facebook Messenger app on your iPhone

Step #2. Make sure home tab is selected at the bottom. Tap on People button at the bottom right corner.

Tap on People button at the bottom right corner

Step #3. Next, make sure Active tab is selected.

Make sure Active tab is selected

All the people who are now active will be listed on the screen.

Finally, turn off the switch next to your profile picture.

Turn off the switch next to your profile picture

From now on, neither you nor others will be able to find out whether you are active or not. It will also disable last active time.

As a Facebook Messenger user, you would like to check out these helpful posts including how to send/receive money, use secret conversation, play Instant Games and send voice message.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Google Plus.