The five-year-old biggest social interacting app- Snapchat has recently released the new update for Android and iPhone with new “Snap Map” feature which allows you to share your present location to your Chatters and know the location of your friends. That’s sounds interesting. But, some people are wondering how to keep location private from Snapchat friends. Thankfully, Snapchat added new fairly feature called “Ghost Mode” along with Snap Map considering the privacy of people. Let’s find out how to enable/disable Ghost Mode in Snapchat’s Snap Map on Android or iPhone to keep location private.

Once you enable “Ghost Mode” in Snapchat, your location will be private up to you only. But, you will still able to use the Snap Map to track the location of your Snapchatters if they have disabled Ghost Mode. The Ghost Mode will be very useful for those parents who don’t want any stranger to know their children’s location. Unlike, the feature is really worthy for those who always want to share the every snap with the location to the friends. If you either want to turn off or turn on Ghost mode in Snapchat on Android and iPhone, then here are a couple ways to do it in a right manner.
How to Enable or Disable Ghost Mode in Snapchat’s Snap Map on Android and iPhone

How to Turn On/Off Ghost Mode in Snapchat’s Snap Map on Android and iPhone

Quick Links:

There are three ways to enable or disable Ghost mode in Snap Map. Let me start with the preliminary prompt to turn on/off Ghost Mode while installing the latest version of the app.

Note: Keep the note that you will have to lift-off the Ghost Mode along with new Snap Map feature after installing the latest version (v10.12.0.0) of the app on Android or iPhone. Just pinch the Snapchat camera screen and select Ghost Mode as per your preference.

How to Turn On/Off Ghost Mode initially while installing Snapchat on Android and iPhone

Once you updated the latest version of the app, you should have to pinch kindly on the camera screen to use the brand new Snap Map feature. When you use the function first time, you will have to select your preferences and allow Snapchat to access your location.

To launch the Ghost Mode, tap on “Next” and Select “Only Me (Ghost Mode)” to Enable Ghost Mode and hit the “Next” and then “Finish”. If you want to share your location with your loved one then you can choose “Select Friends” and select your friends whom you want to share your location.

The Snap Map feature will also show you some popular stories with the blue marks. But, you will be able to see those stories if the users have opened the location sharing for all.

How to Enable/Disable Ghost Mode in the SnaChat’s Snap Map on Android and iPhone

You can Turn On/Turn Off the Ghost Mode right from the new Snap Map feature.

Step #1. Open the Snapchat app on your device.

Open Snapchat app on your iPhone or Android DeviceStep #2. Pinch the camera screen to launch the “Snap Map”

Pinch the camera screen to launch the Snap Map in SnapchatStep #3. Tap on Setting Gear icon at the top right corner.

Tap on Setting Gear icon in Snapchat appStep #4. Turn OFF/ON Ghost Mode as per your preference.

Turn OFF or ON Ghost Mode in Snapchat as per your preferenceIf you don’t want to go through the overhead process then just tap on your Snapchat Profile in the Snap Map and tap on Me with Setting at the bottom of the screen and then you will be able to see the Ghost Mode.

How to Turn Ghost Mode ON/OFF from Snapchat’s Settings on Android and iPhone

Another way to enable/disable Ghost Mode in Snapchat by heading to the settings. Just follow this step.

Step #1. Launch the Snapchat app and tap on the Snapchat icon at the top of the right corner.

Tap on Snapchat icon in Snapchat app on iPhone or Android DeviceStep #2. After heading to your profile, tap on Settings icon at the top left the corner.

Tap on Settings in Snapchat appStep #3. Scroll down to the Who Can section and tap on “See My Location”.

Tap on See My Location in Snapchat AppStep #4. Next up, toggle “Ghost Mode” to turn it ON/OFF.

Turn OFF or ON Ghost Mode in Snapchat as per your preferenceIf you want to disable Ghost mode then toggle off and then the app will show you the pop-up to select friends or all friend. You can choose this option as per your preference. Once you complete this step, you won’t have to select your friend’s list next when you toggle off Ghost Mode to hide your location.

If you don’t want to allow Snapchat to track your every movement then you can turn off location access from your device’s setting.

Note: When you disable your location access from the setting, you won’t be able to use the new Snap Map feature of Snapchat anymore.

On iPhone: Go to Settings → Snapchat → Location → Switch from “While using the app” to “Never” if you want to turn off your location sharing.

Turn Off Snapchat Location on iPhoneOn Android: Go to Settings → Apps→ Snapchat→ Permissions→ Turn off the switch next to the Location.

Turn Off Snapchat Location on Android

That’s it!

Have a quick look these Snapchat related posts as well:

Hope, now you are completely aware of new Ghost Mode and Snap Map feature of a new Snapchat update. Is this feature really useful or not? Let us know your opinion below in the comments and stay safe.